I’m More Sexist than I Thought?


I tend to judge Domme’s profiles as bitchy, rude, and arrogant.

I’m not sure why. My assessments may be unbiased. However, since I view almost every Domme’s profile that way, I think it is unfair. On one hand, many Domme’s seem to write in a similar style because that is what is accepted or wanted by others. I think most Financial Dommes and many pro-Dominatrixes are not genuinely kinky and maybe their writing style influences the others. On the other hand, maybe I am so suspicious they’re all Fin Dommes that I view their profiles through a lens. Another possibility is that I’m attributing the same characteristics I see as positive in Doms, as negative in Dommes because of social conditioning.

Examples…

“I am Bitch Goddess…Those that come to Me should do so on their knees, with fear and adoration in their eyes. I want to rend and tear that which is delicate, I want to rake My nails along soft flesh and leave blood filled trails, I want to look into your eyes and know that I am feared and loved above all others…”

“Come into My realm and let your self be free from the vanilla world that surround us and judge us. Now a little introduction about Myself. I love Myself and those around Me so if your lucky enough for Me to grace you with My presence then you should do whatever it takes to stay there. I have a No nonsense attitude about how I train and allow sub/slaves serve Me.”

versus

“My name is _____. I’ve been pretty heavily involved in the real world kink community within Ontario since 2008 and joined [this website] in late 2007, after hearing about it on another BDSM/Ds message board. If there’s anything you want to know about me, kink in general, or how to get the most out of [this website]…ask!”

“I am a dominant male as my profile says, I am not necessarily looking for an LTR 24/7 situation at this time, however that doesn’t mean I am not open to it if it were to work out that way. I am however always looking for playmates to enjoy, explore and expand my knowledge with. I find it far more fun enjoyable to talk to someone else about interests instead of just writing them down, so take a look at my pics and if you are interested send me a message and let’s get in touch.”

The above four examples were not a result of selection bias. They are all in their 20s or 30s, with Master or Mistress in their name from North America. Except the profiles of women who admitted they were pro-Dommes or people in relationships, these were the first profiles I came across in a quick search.

Based on this, maybe I’m not more sexist than previously thought! There is a huge difference in their tone. Sure I get presumptuous messages from men demanding I call them Master or graphic descriptions of what they want to do to me, when we’ve never spoken before, but it seems more common among the Dommes.

What do you think? Maybe they feel they have to put on a front for people to accept them as Dominant women? Maybe Dominant women tend to be like that? Maybe straight Dominant men feel the same way, but don’t feel socially able to express themselves so boldly on their general profile for fear of appearing misogynistic? Maybe Dommes have enough looking subs that they can afford to act that way, but Doms do not?

I don’t have a problem with appellations, rituals, or graphic descriptions, but I do not submit to someone I just shared a few IMs with on a kinky website. I submit to someone when they’ve earned my trust and obedience. Overly familiar or unrealistic demands and detailed stories directed at me from someone I don’t know are a huge turn off. In the right context, all these are wonderful, but not from someone (Dom or Domme) I don’t know.

If they had magical powers like a Confessor, this would not be a problem. 😉

a confess dalhia

Have you noticed a difference in tone from Doms versus Dommes? If so, what do you attribute it to? If not, what do you think I am missing?

Please share your thoughts!

